Your Distribution Settings are used to determine who, how, and when Subscribers will get a piece of Content in their News Digest.

To access your Distribution Settings, click on the blue gear icon in the top right hand corner of the screen when you are editing a piece of Content.

Inside your Distribution Settings, you will see the following drop-downs:

  • Posting Priority

  • Mobile

  • Segments

  • Comments

In the Posting Priority drop-down, you have the ability to choose the priority of this Content to express who you want to receive the Content in their News Digests, where you want it to live in their News Digest, and how often you want it to be sent.

To determine the priority of your Content and where it will live inside of the News Digest, you will have the following options:

  • Based on audience interests (recommended): This is the default priority, and it will make your Content eligible to be sent inside any Subscriber's News Digests when their interest preferences align with the Categories tagged to this Content.

  • To everyone: This will send your Content to all of your Subscribers in their next News Digest, regardless of their interest preferences.

  • To everyone as the first story: This will send your Content to all of your Subscribers as the first story in their next News Digest, regardless of their interest preferences. Please Note: We only recommend using this option for Content of the utmost importance, so that your Subscribers will have as much personalized Content as possible.

If you select "to everyone" or "to everyone as the first story," you will have the following to options for how many times you want the Content to be delivered to your Subscribers in their News Digests:

  • Just once: This will send your Content "to everyone" or "to everyone as the first story" just once in their News Digests.

  • Multiple times: This will send your Content "to everyone" or "to everyone as the first story" multiple times in their News Digests until the selected pinned date. If you choose this option, you must select a date/time in which the Content will stop being pinned in their News Digests. To choose the pinned date and time, select the calendar icon and choose a date/time from the calendar or type the date/time into the blank field.

Please Note: We recommend selecting just once, so your Subscribers don’t feel as if they are being spammed with the same Content at the top of each of their News Digests.

In the Mobile drop-down, you have the ability to choose to send out push notification through the Mobile App.

This is useful for Subscribers who are on the go and away from their computers a lot. Sending a push notification is also a great way to draw attention to a piece of Content that is of the utmost importance.

If you toggle Push Notifications ON, select the calendar icon and choose a date/time from the calendar or type the date/time into the blank field. This will send a push notification at that date and time to all your Subscribers who have the Cerkl Broadcast App downloaded.

In the Segment drop-down, you have the ability to target or restrict your Content to specific Segments.

This is a great way to target Subscribers in specific Segments, to ensure they are getting Content that is relevant and necessary to them.

Use the drop-down or type the name of the Segment you would like to target or restrict. After you choose your Segment(s), you have the option to toggle Restrict to these Segments on or off:

  • Toggled ON: Restricts your Content to the specified Segment(s). This means your Content will ONLY be eligible for Subscribers who are part of the selected Segment(s).

    Please Note: Selecting Restrict to these Segments will only send the Content to the targeted Segments and will NOT send to any other Subscribers (even if they have interest the Categories tagged to the Content).

  • Toggled OFF: Targets your Content to the specified Segment(s). This means everyone will be eligible to get the piece of Content, but selecting a Segment counts as an interest "boost" to those in the selected Segment(s).

In the Comments drop-down, you have the ability to choose whether or not you want to allow comments on your Content.

You are able to toggle Allow comments on or off.

  • Toggled ON: Gives your Subscribers the ability to comment on your Content in the Content Archive. Think of this as being similar to commenting on a Facebook post!

  • Toggled OFF: Your Subscribers will not be allowed to comment on your Content.

If you have any questions at all, don't hesitate to reach out to us at support@cerkl.com or use the chat bot in the bottom right-hand corner of any Cerkl.com page for a quick answer.

Did this answer your question?