Skip to main content

Create and Edit Sender Profiles

Sender Profiles, Send Information, Restrict, Proxies, Edit, Create, Permissions, Update

Written by Maria Steinberg

When your team needs to send a Blast or Calendar Invite on behalf of someone else, Sender Profiles allow you to set up their sender information in advance and control which Team Members have permission to use each profile.

To use Sender Profiles, toggle the option on in the Blast Controls > Sending Options. After enabled, go to the Sender Profiles tab to manage Sender Profiles.

Reminder: You must click the Save button at the top right of the page after making any changes before a Sender Profile will be available for use.

Add New Sender Profiles

From Blasts > Controls > Sender Profiles, add a new Sender Profile by clicking the +Sender Profile button. A window will appear to enter the Profile information and set Permissions (see below).

Name

The name(s) of the person or group your Blast or Invite will send from.

For tips on making the Sender Profile appear like it's coming from more than one person, please review: Sending a Blast from Multiple People.

Send From

This is the email address your Blast or Invite will be sent from in your Organization.

To add a separate Reply To email address, click the Link button to unlink the email addresses. Sender Profiles scoped to Calendar Invites require the Send From and Reply To use the same email address.

Please Note: If you choose to use a separate 'Reply To' email address, this may increase the likelihood of your Blast being marked as spam. If you choose to use this feature, you will see the following warning message appear on your screen: "Using this override is very likely to flag your message as Spam in your audience member's mailbox. Please only use if you have set up internal inboxes to ignore this common Spam flag."

Profile Name

This is the name given to identify the sender for Broadcast menu and organization purposes. This name will not show up on your email to Subscribers.

Scope

Select if the Sender Profile is intended to be used for Blasts, Calendar Invites, or both.

Configure Permissions

You have the ability to either make a Sender Profile available for all Team Members (Global) or to set permissions that will restrict it to be used only by designated Team Members.

You can set permissions when creating as a new Sender Profile, or anytime afterward by clicking ⋮ Ellipsis Menu Button next to the Sender Profile name, then select Manage Access to bring up the Editor.

From the editor:

  1. From the Permissions tab, click Restricted.

  2. Select the Team Members you wish to restrict this Sender Profile to by clicking the checkbox to the left of their Name and Profile.

  3. Click Update or Add.

If a Team Member has access removed to a specific Sender Profile, or a Sender Profile has been deleted, they may find it's no longer listed for them in the Blast editor. In that case, they'll need to notify an Admin to be re-added or to inquire about the changes to the Sender Profile.

Edit Sender Profiles

To edit and make changes to a Sender Profile, click the ⋮ Ellipsis Menu Button next to the Sender Profile name, then select Edit bring up the Editor.

All of the above information under Add New Sender Profiles, including permissions settings, are available to edit in the Editor window.

Bulk Edit

You can edit the scope of multiple Sender Profiles at one time. Click the check box next to the Sender Profiles you want to update, then click Update Scope for the following options:

  • Enable for Blasts

  • Enable for Invites

  • Disable for Blasts

  • Disable for Invites

If a Sender Profile has an unlinked/different Reply To email address, you will not be able to enable it for Invites. You can still use the bulk edit tool, however the changes will only update supported Sender Profiles.

Delete Sender Profiles

The option to delete Sender Profiles is available on the Sender Profiles tab of Blast Controls. Click the ⋮ Ellipsis Menu Button to the right of the Sender Profile name, then select Delete.
​
Before deletion is completed, you'll be asked to confirm.

Important: When a Sender Profile is deleted, associated sent Blasts will no longer be able to be Retargeted. This cannot be undone.

If a Sender Profile is in use for a Retargeted Blast and it is deleted, the associated scheduled Retargets will be Deleted and the option to Retarget the original Blast will no longer be available.

If a Sender Profile is in use for a Scheduled Blast, upon deletion, the Blast will be removed from the scheduled list and will be saved as a Draft. This will need to be edited to update with a new Sender Profile before it can be schedule or sent.

About the Organization Default

All Team Members with Send permissions will have the option to send from this Sender Profile.

The Organization Default begins using the email address details entered in Settings > Organization Info - Email Identity, but this can be changed.

To set a unique Profile Name, Sender Name, and Send From details, click the ⋮Ellipsis menu button next to the Profile Name in your Sender Profiles table, then select Edit. *An unlinked Send From and Reply To email address cannot be added in the Organization Default Sender Profile.

Why am I getting an Access Restricted Error?

You may see a Sender Profile Access Restricted error in the Blast Editor if your access permissions for a Sender profile have been changed, or if you're working on a Blast that another Team Member has added a Sender Profile you do not have access to.

While this Sender Profile is applied to the Blast, you can Save as Draft, however, the option to Schedule or Send is limited to those with access permissions.
​


If you have any questions at all, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at support@cerkl.com or use the support Chat toward the bottom right-hand corner of any cerkl.com page.
​

Did this answer your question?